Denver is the captial city of Colorado located on the Front Range Urban Corridor, between the Rocky Mountains and High Plains.  According to the U.S. Census Bureau, Denver’s area is approximately 154.9 square miles, of which 1.6 square miles, or 1.03%, is water. Denver is comprised of plains in the city center with mountainous regions to the west, south, and southeast. Only three counties surround the City and County of Denver: Adams County to the north and east, Arapahoe County to the south and east, and Jefferson County to the west.

Located in the heart of the Rocky Mountain region, Denver is the center of numerous economic activities including business, services, transportation, government, entertainment and cultural and sporting events. At 5,280 feet above sea level, Denver is known as the “Mile High City” with the Colorado State Capital constructed and opened in 1894.

The closest major cities to Denver are Aurora (CO), Colorado (CO), Albuquerque (NM) and Wichita (KS).